Nia Davis


Madeleine Kiluba

Xposure student Nia Davis works on an article about emotional support animals.

Delilah Brumer, Daniel Pearl Magnet High School

Name: Nia Davis

High School: Prince Edward County High School, Farmville, Virginia

Mascot: Eagle

Grade: 11

Birthday: Oct. 6, 2005

Age: 16

Favorite subject: History and Greek mythology

Extracurricular activities: Shotput and discus, 4-H, reading, writing

Favorite superhero: Iron Man

Favorite song: “Day ‘N’ Night” by Kid Cudi

Favorite slang word/phrase: Dang it

Parents: Nivia and Kenneth Davis

Siblings: Nina, 14, and Nixie, 11

Dream college: Harvard or Yale

If you could have a movie made about your life, what would the story line be? Who would star as you and what’s the movie’s title? “The movie would be about my high school years. It would be called ‘I Know This Much is True.’ Dominique Thorne would play me.”

What are your three must haves? “My phone, a water bottle to stay hydrated and a nice book. I really like adventure and fantasy.”

What’s the best part about social media and the worst? “The best part is the opportunity to see a wide range of cultures, not just where you are. I don’t like the bullying aspect.”

What do you admire about Gen Z? What do you dislike about Gen Z? “I admire our willingness to adapt and change. We’re able to accept everybody, no matter where they come from, their race, their gender or their sexuality. I don’t like how we’re really sensitive.”

How has the pandemic affected you? “I didn’t learn anything in ninth grade. I basically missed my freshman year but I didn’t have an issue with being inside. My sister had COVID-19 but I’m grateful that my family wasn’t seriously affected by the pandemic.”

How do you prioritize your mental health during these difficult times? “I try to prioritize myself. I know I’m busy and it’s taxing, but I try not to let it get to me. I try to do the best I can.”

Where do you see yourself in 10 years? “I see myself working as a political analyst and being successful.”

What is your ideal life/dream job? “I want to be a political analyst and work for CNN or the FBI.”

If you could live anywhere in the world for one year, where would you live and why?

“I’d live in the UK because it’s really pretty.”

Who or what inspires you and why? “My parents and my grandma inspire me a lot. My grandma couldn’t go to school for a few years because they refused to integrate. She kept going even though she was stopped by oppressors.”

If you could trade places with the president of the United States for one day, what would you do as president? “I would cancel student loan debt because I think it would help a lot of people.”

What do you consider your greatest accomplishment? “In 2020 I was accepted into the Congress of Future Medical Leaders. I got to see a lot of surgeries. I think I’ll see Xposure as my biggest accomplishment once I’m done.”

What do you see as your biggest regret? “I haven’t really done anything to the point that I have a big regret.”